Property tax bills are mailed out every August to all property owners of record as of April 1st. Milton's tax bills have 3 installments due September 15th, February 15th and May 15th. The first two installment due dates are not mandatory - property owners can opt to pay their bill, in any increment(s) they choose, as long as it is paid in full by May 15th. Payment must be received by the due date; postmarks are not accepted.
After May 15th a penalty of 8% is assessed and an additional 1% interest each month thereafter.
In 2022, because May 15th was a Sunday, the penalty was assessed after Monday, May 16th.
If you purchased property after April 1st, you can request a copy of the tax bill from the Town Clerk's Office if not received through the closing (sale/purchase) process.
If you have an escrow company, it is your responsibility to send a copy to them for payment. Remember to keep a copy for income tax purposes.
For information about the Vermont Homeowner's Assistance Program, please review this VHAP flyer (PDF).
The previous (FY 2021-2022) tax rates were: Total Homestead $2.1861 and Total Non-Homestead $2.3945.
Homestead Declaration (HS-122) & Property Tax Adjustment Claim (HI-144)
File these Vermont Tax Forms every year to qualify for the lower, residential tax rate and a property tax adjustment, if eligible. These forms are due by April 15 (the state income tax filing deadline), even if you file an extension on your income taxes. Property owners should file these forms even if they don't file income taxes. Please visit the Vermont Department of Taxes website for more information. You can file these forms online at myVTax.